Tamarind chutney (Mom’s version)

Hello World!

Okay, I’ll be honest here. This isn’t really my brainchild. Nor did I try to add my ‘special twist’ to this one. I feel my mother makes the best tamarind chutney. It’s just the right balance of sweet and tangy and spicy. I love this chutney for its versatile nature. You can add this to any chaat(see my Bhelpuri recipe here) or drizzle it over dahi bhallas. And if you are a lazy ass picky eater just like me, who hates the dalia/khichdi/veggies, you could add this to any of these tasteless dishes and make them worth eating.

Datetamarind-chutney5

I dare not sway from the measurements and ingredients that my mother uses. So here’s the step by step, right to the measurement recipe for the same.

Ingredients:

  • Tamarind/Imli (soaked in water for at least 4 hours or  for 2 hours in hot water if making in a jiffy)- 100 gm
  • Sugar – 125 gm
  • Salt, Black pepper, red chilli powder –  My mother uses 1/2 tsp each but you can tune it to your taste
  • Sonth (Dry ginger powder) – 1/2 tsp
  • Cumin (roasted) – 1/2 tsp

Method:

This could get a little messy. So make sure you are wearing an apron over your dress.

  • Mash the tamarinds in water using your bare hands so that you can reap all the pulp out. Strain the mixture into a heavy bottomed saucepan.
  • Add sugar and let it cook until the sugar mixes completely.
  • Add the salt, pepper, chilli powder, sonth and keep stirring until the mixture thickens. It should be of the same consistency as your tomato ketchup.
  • Sprinkle the roasted cumin over the the mixture and let it rest until it cools.
  • You can now transfer this to an airtight container and store it for 2-3 months in the refrigerator.

Love,
MK

Leave a Reply

